Last Day of June & an Interview

30 Jun

KXAN Interview

Since there is only one post for the entire month of June I have no choice but to finish this month out by adding one more…one lonely post is just too sad to leave there unattended.

When I got back from my summer vacation to South Austin Hospital, I was determined to catch up on three weeks of stuff…bills, sorting, filing, etc… so I spent a few days concentrating on that this week since I felt better and I am DONE!  Not that I am finished, but I am just done with it.  I wasted three weeks of my summer break on IV fluids and I’m not about to waste the rest of my break trying to catch up with things that will probably never be caught up.  So yesterday I made plans with my dear friend Dita, we headed over about 1:00 pm, talked, laughed, ate, drank a little wine, played silly card games with the kids and just didn’t accomplish anything outside of friends catching up which really was accomplishing more than anything else I have spent time with since my release aside from being with my family again.  Anyway, yesterday was one of the best days of Summer 2011 thus far and I’m ready to have tons of more days spent in this manner!

Yesterday was also eventful in several ways.  The drug Avastin which I took for about a year was revoked by the FDA for treatment in breast cancer…something I have feared for months.  Their argument is the side effects don’t outweigh the benefits which is a bunch of crap…dying of cancer is the worst thing I can think of and risking possible side effects to avoid that is worth it. Avastin remains approved for treatment of other forms of cancer at this point, but not breast cancer which makes the FDAs side effect argument totally invalid…a brain cancer or colon cancer patient is experiencing the same side effects.  The problem is that breast cancer is the popular one and I’m sure it’s costing insurance companies tens of thousand of dollars day after day…that seems to me more of a decision motivator than the so-called illusion of human concern by a government council.  Shouldn’t the choice just be left up to the patient anyway…it’s our life for crying out loud!!!

So, I was on the news to share my story of Avastin treatment.  I was on Austin’s KXAN last night at 10:00 and then again this morning.  The segment turned out really good and it was great that my Mom, Kat, Dita and David got to be a part of it…cancer treatment isn’t a solo act by any means so when my support is nearby it just means so much more.  The link to KXAN is on this post, so people should take time and view it, digest what is being shared, and maybe raise a little hell about it.

I’m off to work in my classroom today reluctantly.  Texas legislature and education is an entire separate battle which I’m not going to discuss right now because I want to keep my heart rate down!  Anyway, if I don’t get it done in the summer I’m so behind when we start.  I like to be MORE than ready on back to school night…that way I can act a little more cool when I meet my class instead of being a frantic psychopath who is teaching out of boxes!

My inspiration for the day is Summer…a time of flexible schedules and afternoons with friends and family…maybe a splash in the pool or just good conversation in the air conditioning.  Regardless, afternoons spent with the people I love are so much worthwhile than sorting through closets or bookshelves.

Indulgence…hazelnuts.  What a great yummy protein rich snack.  Although they are delicious covered in dark chocolate, raw and plain hazelnuts are a healthy bite to chomp on.

One Response to “Last Day of June & an Interview”

  1. Dad July 1, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Betsy,
    Medicare is going to continue to pay for Avastin despiite the FDA decision. According to Bloomberg report this morning so are many Health Insurance carriers including United Health Care. Some Blue Cross plans are going to discontinue payments for Avastin. So, for non-Medicare coverages some companies will continue to pay while others won’t. You should contact your group benefits manager and find out what your coverage is going to do.

    It’s good to see you blogging again. Love Ya !!……….Dad

Leave a comment